GPI takes over the WPT Player of the Year

The partnership between the Global Poker Index and the World Poker Tour is now official, with the former to power the WPT Player of the Year. It is good news for those who hoped to see more tournaments added on the list, because until recently, only the major events counted. WPT500, WPTDeepStacks, and WPT National and Regional Events are now also a part of the race and those who make a deep run in any of these tournaments will greatly improve their chances of winning the trophy.threads

Both parties involved are quite happy with the result of their discussions, but the changes would only come into play next season. Meanwhile, the WPT Player of the Year will be decided following the same rules that are in effect, so players should pay attention to what the official website displays. The GPI is slowly but surely expanding over new territories, as more tournaments are openly recognizing the superiority of their ranking system.

Speaking of which, some changes have occurred at the top of the GPI 300 top 10, with Dan Smith losing the pot position to Ole Schemion. The two players are separated by only 19 points and Ole needs a simple money finish to cross the 4000 points threshold. While he is anxiously waiting for that to happen, he can be pretty happy with his performance, as he consolidated his position at the top of the list:

  1. Ole Schemion – 3997
  2. Dan Smith – 3907
  3. Daniel Negreanu – 3765
  4. Scott Seiver – 3580
  5. Byron Kaverman – 3497
  6. Jason Mercier – 3494
  7. Paul Volpe – 3460
  8. Erik Seidel – 3417
  9. Alex Bilokur – 3385
  10. Martin Jacobsen – 3264

This is not the only leaderboard powered by the Global Poker Index, with an equally important one being the 2014 GPI Player of the Year. In this particular race, the German poker professional still has a couple of points to accumulate to overtake his rivals and claim the first spot. For the time being, he sits in the fifth place, within striking distance of Scott Seiver and not too far behind Dan Smith. The latter is slipping through the standings even though the downswing is not impressive.

Alex Bilokur and Keven Stammen are currently battling for the first place, with both of them accumulating in excess of 1000 points. Alex is clearly in command with 70 points ahead of his rival, but anything can change later this month when the European Poker Tour begins in Barcelona. Check out the current 2014 GPI Player of the Year standings below:

  1. Alex Bilokur – 1071
  2. Keven Stammen – 1001
  3. Dan Smith – 967
  4. Scott Seiver – 953
  5. Ole Schemion – 951
  6. Daniel Negreanu – 946
  7. Mustapha Kanit – 940
  8. Byron Kaverman – 923
  9. Jacob Schindler – 921
  10. Matt Glantz – 896