€1 million raised for charity throughout the One Drop campaign

pokerthreaSuccessful people frequently feel the need of giving something back to community and poker players are now exception. The only thing they need is an opportunity to prove their generosity and Guy Laliberté provided them with a chance to help others by creating the One Drop foundation. It was established six years ago and raised tens of millions for charity, with this year alone $1.3 million being collected.

In 2012, the largest prize ever to be won in a live tournament was awarded to poker professional Antonio Esfandiari who won the One Drop High Rollers tournament. He received an astounding amount of $18 million and he donated a part of that charity, with other poker professionals following his example. Furthermore, the campaign raised in excess of $1 million for charity and started a trend as more poker players decided that it is time to put their money to good use.

The One Drop campaign is an ongoing project that is aimed at alleviating poverty and suffering in poor countries such as Nicaragua, El Salvador, Burkina Faso and Haiti. The World Series of poker was the highlight of the year for players and fundraisers alike with nearly $1.1 million being graced. Tony Gregg paid the $111,111 buy-in for the ONE DROP High Rollers tournament and emerged victorious, while Brian Yoon competed in the lesser event code named Little One for ONE DROP.

Guy Laliberté remains a staunch supporter of the organization he created and pledged to donate $100 million over the next quarter of the century. Cirque du Soleil is a highly profitable endeavor and even though his poker career was highly unproductive, Guy doesn’t have to worry about money. Allegedly he lost around $20 million since he started to play poker over the Internet, but his net worth is estimated at $2.6 billion.

It is less important how someone gets to turn his life around and become a millionaire, as long as the methods are in complete accord with the law. What truly matters is what he does after he attains this status and much to his credit, Guy Laliberté serves as an example for both poker players and prosperous businessmen. Unfortunately the campaign launched by him is not properly advertised outside the poker community and poker players themselves prefer to keep a low profile and do the good deeds in secrecy.

Kristen Bicknell wins her first WSOP bracelet at Event 51

The ladies of poker always enjoy tremendous attention at the World Series of poker and Kristen Bicknell definitely deserves all the praise she gets. Almost 1000 women bought in for Event #51: $10,000 Ladies No-Limit Hold’em Championship and after three excruciatingly long days of poker, Kristen emerged victorious and received $173,000.

At the beginning of day three the final table was set and after Cindy Kerslake was eliminated in the ninth place, the remaining players were less willing to take chances. Their stacks were evenly matched and the blinds were not that high as to push them to reckless actions, which explains why it took two hours before Connie Bruce finally left the tournament. She lost a coin flip against Chris Priday and her elimination was only the first, with three other ladies of poker joining her.


Amanda Baker, Shana Matthews and Eleanor Gudger lost their chips to Kristen Bicknell and Leanne Haas, which gave the two players an advantage over Julie Monsacre when three handed play began. Their opponent was the huge underdog and she was fully aware of her difficult situation, so she went only after just three hands. She was dominated by Bicknell from the very beginning and her weaker hand couldn’t improve, leaving Kristen and Haas to compete for the World Series of Poker bracelet.

Bicknell had more chips and played her stack aggressively and won the tournament in just seven hands with a pair of Kings and a better kicker. The Australian player had to settle for roughly $100,000, while the Canadian won the tenth circuit bracelet for her country. It is worth mentioning the fact that this year no man had the audacity to buy in for this tournament reserved to ladies, unlike 2012 and 2011.